Sri Lankan Chapter

Sri Lankan Chapter

Chapter # 171

Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka

Formed: 5th Feb, 2002


President: Mr. Hiulet C Jayaweera


Phone: +94 12744247

Chapter Past Presidents
• Yaseen Marikkar, 2002-2003
• M.N. Nanayakkara, 2003-2004
• Chandana Nilhan Dalugoda, 2004-2005
• Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe, 2005-2006
• Kumara Wasantha G Hewage, 2006-2007
• Wimalachandra Jayakody, 2007-2008
• Piyasiri Kalubowila, 2008-2009
• J A Hugh C De Saram, 2009-2010
• M.N. Nanayakkara, 2010-2011
• Chandana Nilhan Dalugoda, 2011-2012
• Wimalachandra Jayakody, 2012-2013
• Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe, 2013-2014
• Wimala Goonaratne, 2014-2015
• Kapila Rodrigo,2015-2016
• Piyasiri Kalubowila, 2016-2017
• Mr Mahendra Senevirathne, 2017-18
• Mr.Vijitha perera, 2018-19
• Mr.Prashantha Hewapathirana, 2019-20
• Ms.Sandamaalie perera, 2020-21
• Ms Sandamaalie perera, 2021-22


Chapter History

In the known history, there have been ASHRAE members from Sri Lanka, since the late 1960’s. A first attempt made to form an ASHRAE Sri Lanka Chapter in 1990 by these few members had not been successful. However, with the communication initiated by
Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe in April 2001, with Sameer Traboulsi, the Chairman Sub Region A of RAL, the proposal to establish a Chapter was successful. As a result, three ASHRAE members from Sri Lanka, consisting of Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe, Wasantha Kumara and JDK Jayatilleke, were invited to participate in the Taiwan CRC, as observers, in September 2001. Thereafter, with the efforts of Pandu Amarasinghe and Chandana Dalugoda, more than 50 active members were gathered, and when Sameer Traboulsi made his visit on the 18th October 2001, the chapter was unofficially formed.
Late Mr. Yaseen Marikkar, one of the senior members, was elected as the President. Late Mr. Jayampathi O. Yatawara was elected as the President Elect. S.P.Franklin Silva, Wijitha Perera, Pandukabhaya Amarasinghe and G.H. Wasantha Kumara were elected as Vice Presidents. Chandana N. Dalugoda was elected as the Secretary and Nihal Nanayakkara as the Treasurer.
Subsequently, the Official Chartering ceremony was held on the 5th February 2002 with the Society President William J. Coad officiating the chartering process, while Sameer Traboulsi was the guest of honour who was instrumental in forming the chapter.